Certificate in Asian Studies

The certificate in Asian Studies is a cohesive and interdisciplinary program that draws on a range of courses focusing on Asian regions and cultures. The certificate in Asian Studies consists of 12 units.

Certificates may be earned by regularly matriculated or extended learning students and denote successful completion of a prescribed program of study designed to:

  1. impart specified professional/vocational/career competencies; or
  2. produce mastery of the content of a sub-field of an academic major (discipline); or
  3. provide exposure to the range of materials in a traditional or emerging interdisciplinary field.

Certain certificate programs contain 600-level courses as requirements and/or electives. These 600-level courses may not be taken by undergraduate students. Candidates must receive two-thirds of their certificate-applicable credit from the university. The transferring of credit or the substitution of courses may occur only after application to the appropriate campus authority.

Certificate Requirements (12 units)

Core Requirements (3)
Three units chosen from:3
Asian Cultures
Asian Humanities in a Globalized World
Business and Asian Culture
History of Modern East Asia
Asian Philosophy
Elective Requirements (9)
Nine units from the following courses (may not receive credit as an elective if taken as a core course):9
Asian Contemporary Art
Asian Humanities in a Globalized World
Internship in Humanities
Independent Study in the Humanities
International Experience: Asian Studies
College Chinese II
Chinese Literature in Translation
Asian American Literature
Beginning Japanese II
Japanese Literature in English
Voices & Visions from the World of Japanese Anime and Manga
Beginning Korean 2
Korean Literature in English
Asian Philosophy
Asian Cultures
Business and Asian Culture
History of Modern East Asia
Modern Chinese History in Fiction and Film
Media Cultures of the Indian Subcontinent
East Asian Politics
Total Units12