Certificate in Cyber Security

Requirements (32 units)

Certificates may be earned by regularly matriculated or extended learning students and denote successful completion of a prescribed program of study designed to:

  1. impart specified professional/vocational/career competencies; or
  2. produce mastery of the content of a sub-field of an academic major (discipline); or
  3. provide exposure to the range of materials in a traditional or emerging interdisciplinary field.

Certain certificate programs contain 600-level courses as requirements and/or electives. These 600-level courses may not be taken by undergraduate students. Candidates must receive two-thirds of their certificate-applicable credit from the university. The transferring of credit or the substitution of courses may occur only after application to the appropriate campus authority.

Students completing the Cyber Security Certificate meet the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) standards for Information Systems Security Professionals (CNSS 4011) and Senior System Managers (CNSS 4012).

Certificate Requirements

IST 101Introduction to Information Technology4
IST 215Cyber Security4
IST 275Information Networking and Security4
IST 309Information Systems and Technology4
IST 372Information Technology4
IST 475Advanced Information Networking and Security4
A minimum of eight units chosen from:8
Security Systems Management
Information Systems Planning and Policy
Cyber Defense
Computer Forensics
Total Units32